The Folly Of The Facebook Real Name Process

On February 11th, 2014 the Facebook system unceremoniously disabled the personal Facebook profile of SocialOomph’s owner, Dewald Pretorius. They alleged that the profile “might not be real or does not represent a real person.” This profile has been in existence since 2008 and is connected to several people whom even a complete idiot can see are clearly family members.

The Facebook profile is the owner of the SocialOomph.com application, which grants SocialOomph authorization to integrate with Facebook. With the erroneous deactivation of the personal profile by Facebook, the SocialOomph application was also deactivated. This in turn negatively and severely impacted thousands of SocialOomph’s users, who post scheduled updates to their personal Facebook profiles, Facebook business pages, and Facebook groups via SocialOomph. Not only did their ability to publish updates via SocialOomph disappear, all their past published updates also disappeared from Facebook!

This erroneous and irresponsible behavior by Facebook not only adversely affected SocialOomph’s business, it also negatively affected the businesses of thousands of SocialOomph’s users.

A far superior way for Facebook would have been to not automatically deactivate the owner’s account, but to give him a reasonable period of time to “prove” that he is a real human being using his real name. At the very least they could do that with personal profiles that own active applications, business pages, or groups.

To unceremoniously and without notice disable everything owned by a “suspicious” account, and thereby impacting thousands of people and thousands of businesses, is grossly negligent and irresponsible.

Advertisements

New Feature: Embed Automatic Update Recur Instructions In Bulk Upload File

You can now include custom recur codes on updates in the bulk upload file to specify exactly how each update must be automatically published at a specified frequency.

Read in our self-help center how to use this new feature.

Bulk uploading is available to Professional and Twitter Advanced Scheduling accounts.

Change To Limits Of Basic Free Accounts

New basic free accounts registered from November 13, 2013 onward can now connect a maximum of five Twitter accounts to their user account. Previously there was no cap to the number of Twitter accounts that could be connected to a free user account. To add more than five Twitter accounts the user account must now be upgraded to the Twitter Unlimited level or to the Professional level.

User accounts registered before November 13, 2013 were grand-fathered in, meaning they can still connect an unlimited number of Twitter accounts at the basic free level.

New Feature: Embed The Publishing Schedule In The Bulk Upload File

You can now include custom scheduling codes on each update in the bulk upload file to specify exactly when each update must be scheduled. Meaning, with custom scheduling codes you embed the schedule in the file itself, and you can configure that schedule exactly the way you want it. It’s easier than it may sound.

A custom scheduling code, supplied with each update, can be either an exact date and time (publish the update at this specific time) or it can define the time gap between the update and the preceding update in the file (publish the update 35 minutes after the preceding one).

Read in our self-help center how to use this new feature.

Bulk uploading is available to Professional and Twitter Advanced Scheduling accounts.

New: Self-Destructing (Time-Limited) Twitter Tweets And Facebook Posts

You can now post updates that are automatically deleted from Twitter (Professional and Twitter Advanced Scheduling users) or Facebook (Professional users) after a period of time of your choice. You set that period of time for each individual update.

When you create an update, add the self-destruct code at the very end of the update text. You will do that either in the New Update form, New Update & Image form, or in the text file that you will bulk upload.

Here are a few samples.

Read all about our limited-time special offer! example.com/offer #t7d
Use coupon code STARTREK for a 20% discount on all footwear! #t1m

In both samples, the tweet or Facebook post will be automatically deleted when the special offer or coupon expires. It won’t be out there confusing people.

Read in our self-help center how to use it.

New Feature: Posting Shares To LinkedIn Company Pages

We have now added the ability to post shares to LinkedIn Company Pages, in addition to the existing ability to post shares to LinkedIn profiles and LinkedIn Groups.

The feature is available to Professional users. To post shares to a LinkedIn company page, first add your LinkedIn profile as a social account with Social Accounts, Add New Account, Add LinkedIn in the menu. You will then be presented with a list of company pages that LinkedIn allows you to post shares to, and you can add those to your list of social accounts. If you have already added your LinkedIn profile, select Social Accounts, Manage Accounts in the menu and then click the Edit link of your LinkedIn profile account. You will then see the same list of company pages that you can add as social accounts.