Facebook Rule Change Affecting Personal Profiles and Groups

On April 24, 2018, Facebook announced that they were removing the publish_actions Facebook API permission.

The publish_actions permission was required to perform offline publishing of Facebook posts to personal Facebook profiles and Facebook groups. Offline publishing means “without user intervention,” such as future-dated Facebook posts scheduled in our service and other comparable services.

The removal of the permission means that we will now be able to publish your scheduled posts only to Facebook pages of which you are an administrator. We cannot any longer publish posts to Facebook profiles and groups.

This change affects all third-party services that use the Facebook Graph API.

Advertisements

Removal of Follower and Following Features

Twitter informed us that providing follow features greatly increases the risk of an application being auto-sanctioned (restricted or suspended).

On March 5, 2018 our application was auto-restricted by Twitter algorithms because their system was observing elevated spam reports on Twitter accounts where SocialOomph executed a follow API call. In other words, account @user_one followed, via SocialOomph, @user_two, and subsequently @user_two submitted a spam report to Twitter to complain about @user_one.

This auto-restriction did not only impact our calls to the follow API endpoints, it prevented us from making any write operations to the API, including publishing tweets.

This restriction severely impacted thousands of our users for several hours, until Twitter Platform staff responded to our support requests, explained the reason for the auto-restriction, and then lifted the restriction.

Providing superior scheduling features has always been our core competency, and we’re not willing to retain features in the service that might, and almost certainly will, negatively impact that core competency.

Consequently, on March 6, 2018, we removed all follow features from our service. This removed the follow-back, find new people to follow, and following management features.

Helping Twitter To Combat Spam

Twitter Rule Changes

On February 21, 2018 Twitter published new developer rules for automation and the use of multiple Twitter accounts.

The rules basically boil down to this, to the extent that our service is affected:

Do not allow users to select more than one Twitter account when they create a tweet.

We’ve implemented the necessary changes in our service to comply with the new Twitter rules.

Going One Step Further

In addition, we have also implemented the following tweet throttling rule, which applies only to tweets published to Twitter via our service:

Across all the Twitter accounts linked to your SocialOomph account, the same tweet can only be published once every 24 hours (we refer to this as the duplicate content blackout period).

Even though you might still be able to schedule the same tweet to be published to different Twitter accounts in the same rolling 24-hour period, at publishing time we will publish the first copy of the tweet, and then reject any duplicates for 24 hours after that, across all your linked Twitter accounts.

The moral of this story is: Create unique content for Twitter. They hate duplicate content.

New Rules Apply To All Applications

The new Twitter developer rules apply to all applications that use Twitter’s API. If you happen to¬† find one that still offers multi-account tweet posting capabilities, know that using it violates Twitter’s rules and could result in the suspension of your Twitter account.

Twitter has even removed multi-account posting capabilities from their own product, TweetDeck.

Implementation Date

The above changes to our service went live on February 22, 2018.

Concerns

Please refer any queries or concerns with the new Twitter policy to Twitter Support.

 

 

New Feature: Connect Your Pinterest Boards and Schedule Your Pins

We added Pinterest.com as another social network that you can connect to your SocialOomph user account, and schedule Pins for your Boards. All our much loved scheduling and update sourcing tools, such as recurring updates, queue reservoirs, seasonal updates in queues, RSS feeds, emailing in updates, etc., are available to use with your Pinterest Boards.

For more information on the Pinterest integration and other features, please review our online help at https://www.socialoomph.com/help.

This new feature is available to all our users with a Professional subscription.

New: Optional Two-Factor Log In Security

For added security, you are now able to activate two-factor authentication on your user account, where you must also enter a dynamic 6-digit code that’s generated by an app on your mobile device when you log in. This feature is optional. You do not need to do anything if you want to continue using just your user ID and password to log in.

To activate this feature on your account, log in, click your name in the menu and then Two-Factor Authentication.

This new security feature is available to all our users free of charge.

New Feature: Twitter and Facebook Campaign Tools

We have made our queue reservoir feature even more powerful so that it now enables you to:

  • Specify a specific date and time at which the queue must be paused (stop publishing updates), which is ideal for a time-limited campaign.
  • Specify a specific date and time at which we must delete from Twitter and Facebook all updates that the queue published to those social networks, which is ideal to automatically remove outdated and potentially confusing information from your Twitter and Facebook streams.

The new date and time fields are located towards the bottom of the queue reservoir add and edit forms. Queue reservoirs are available to Professional and Twitter Unlimited subscribers.

New Feature: Grouping of Social Accounts

If you manage several social accounts, perhaps belonging to different clients, you can now group those accounts together with our new Account Groups function (Networks, Manage Account Groups in the menu). It enables you to do the following:

  • Schedule an update for all the accounts in a group on the New Update form and New Image & Text form by simply selecting the account group from the accounts list instead of having to select each account individually.
  • Filter the list of social accounts to show only those in a specific account group.
  • Filter scheduled and published updates to show only those belonging to the social accounts in a specific account group.
  • And more…

The account grouping feature is available to everyone, including users with basic free accounts.